2013 Worlds. More records fall as Lochte fires at World Champs
Fabio Terrone
Two more European records fell at the Swimming World Championships taking place in Barcelona

BARCELONA - Australian Cate Campbell upset world champion Sarah Sjiostrom of Sweden to win the women's 100 metres freestyle.

Campbell touched the wall in 52.34 seconds, beating Sjiostrom by almost one half second while Dutch Kromowidjojo picked up her second bronze for this race.

Gator swimming legend Ryan Lochte won his second individual event by capturing the men’s 200 backstroke in 1:53.79. The Olympic and world champion had already won the 200 metres individual medley. Second place in the race went to Poland’s Radoslaw Kawecki, at 1:54.24, a new European record.

European record evolution (Time, Name/Nationality, Place, Date):
1:54.24 Radoslaw Kawecki POL Barcelona 02.08.13
1:54.75 Arkady Vyatchanin RUS Rome 31.07.09
1:54.90 Arkady Vyatchanin RUS Rome 30.07.09
1:54.93 Arkady Vyatchanin RUS Beijing 15.08.08
1:55.44 Arkady Vyatchanin RUS Budapest 05.08.06

Yuliya Efimova of Russia won the 200 metres breaststroke in 2 minutes, 19.41 seconds, while Danish Rikke Moller Pedersen, after breaking the world record to reach the final, placed second.

Daniel Gyurta oh Hungary won his third straight crown in the men's 200 metres breaststroke. The Olympic Champion clocked 2:07.23 topping the previous record that he set winning gold at the London Games.

European record evolution:
2:07.23 Daniel Gyurta HUN Barcelona 02.08.13
2:07.28 Daniel Gyurta HUN London 01.08.12
2:07.64 Daniel Gyurta HUN Rome 31.07.09
2:08.08 Daniel Gyurta HUN Rome 30.07.09
2:08.33 Marco Koch GER Berlin 28.06.08

Finally, team USA reach the fifth consecutive win in the championships with the men’s 800 metres relay.



1. Cate Campbell AUS 52.34
2. Sarah Sjiostrom 52.89
3. Ranomi Kromowidjojo NED 53.42

1. Yuliya Efimova RUS 2:19.41
2. Rikke Moller Pedersen DEN 2:20.08
3. Micah Lawrence USA 2:22.37


1. Ryan Lohte USA 1:53.79
2. Radoslaw Kawecki POL 1:54.24 ER
3. Tyler Clary USA 1:54.64

1. Daniel Gyurta HUN 2:07.23 ER
2. Marco Koch GER 2:08.54
3. Matti Mattsson FIN 2:08.95

1. United States USA 7:01.72
2. Russia RUS 7:03.92
3. China CHN 7:04.74