Roundup of the latest news
Fabio Terrone
Jones, Wigersma retire from sport. Ireland at European short-course championships

Australia's Olympic swimming champion Leisel Jones has announced her retirement from swimming.
Jones, who's 27, won three olympic titles in breaststroke events and during her career she also won 7 gold medals at the world championships.

New Zealand Natalie Wigersma has retired from sport. Wigersma, 22, won gold in the women's 100 metres backstroke at the first World Youth Championships in Rio de Janeiro in 2006.

Swim Ireland have announced a 11-strong squad for the up and coming European Short Course swimming championships.
TEAM ROSTER: Brendan Hyland, Curtis Coulter, David O’Sullivan, Brendan Gibbons, Cian Duffy, Jane Roberts,Sarah Kelly, Clodagh Flood, Sycerika McMahon Shani Stallard, Barry Murphy.

The 2012 European short-course championships will take place from 22 to 25 November in Chartres, France.