Roundup of the latest news
Fabio Terrone
Swimming New Zealand Awards. Canadian Olympic Team. Gianniotis and Cunha win 10km in Eilat

Swimming New Zealand Awards. North Shore swimmer Lauren Boyle won the swimmer of the year award Sunday, at the end of the national championships.
Boyle, 24, was a finalist in the 400 and 800 metres freestyle at the 2011 World Championships in Shanghai.
Her coach, Mark Regan, has been named coach of the year.

Canada's Team Roster for London 2012:

MEN (13): Joe Bartoch, London, Ont. (100 butterfly); Ryan Cochrane, Victoria (400, 1500 freestyle); Scott Dickens, Burlington, Ont. (100 breaststroke, 200 breaststroke); Andrew Ford, Guelph, Ont. (200 IM) Charles Francis, Cowansville, Que. (100 backstroke); Thomas Gossland, Vancouver (4x100 freestyle relay); Brent Hayden, Vancouver (100 freestyle, 50 free, 4x100 freestyle relay); Richard Hortness, Medicine Hat, Alta. (4x100 freestyle relay); Tobias Oriwol, Toronto (200 backstroke); Alec Page, Victoria (400 IM); Colin Russell, Burlington, Ont., (4x100 freestyle relay); David Sharpe, Halifax (200 buttefly); Blake Worsley, Victoria (200 freestyle).

WOMEN (18): Hilary Caldwell, Surrey, B.C. (200 backstroke); Samantha Cheverton, Pointe-Claire, Que. (200 freestyle, 4x200 freestyle relay, 4x100 freestyle relay); Stephanie Horner, Beaconsfield, Que. (400 IM); Barbara Jardin, Montreal ( 200 freestyle, 4x200 freestyle relay); Savannah King, Vancouver (400 freestyle, 800 freestyle); Alexa Komarnycky, Etobicoke (800 freestyle); Audrey Lacroix, Montreal (200 butterfly); Brittany MacLean, Etobicoke, Ont. (400 freestyle, 4x200 freestyle relay); Heather MacLean, Etobicoke (4x100 freestyle relay); Martha McCabe, Toronto (200 breaststroke); Victoria Poon, Montreal (50 free, 4x100 freestyle relay); Erica Morningstar, Calgary (200 IM); Amanda Reason, Windsor, Ont. (4x200 freestyle relay); Katerine Savard, Quebec City (100 butterfly); Sinead Russell, Burlington, Ont. (100, 200 backstroke); Jillian Tyler, Calgary (100 breaststroke); Tera Van Beilen, Oakville, Ont. (100, 200 breaststroke); Julia Wilkinson, Stratford, Ont. (100 backstroke, 200IM, 100 freestyle, 4x100 freestyle).

Gianniotis and Cunha win 10km in Eilat
Spyridon Gianniotis of Greece won his third consecutive gold at the 10km FINA World Cup in Eilat, Israel. He won the men’s event in a time of 1h52:32.45 ahead of Germany's Thomas Lurz (1h52:36.25) and Russian Evgeny Drattsev (1h52:36.45).
Ana Marcela Cunha of Brazil won the women's contest in 2h02:37.45. Second was Ekaterina Seliverstova (Russia, 2h02:37.80) and third teammate Anna Guseva (2h02:38.85).