SMU Hosts 5th Annual Women's Swimming & Diving Classic

The fifth annual SMU Women's Swimming & Diving Classic, one of the nation's premier in-season meets, will be held Friday and Saturday (Nov. 6-7) at Perkins Natatorium on the SMU campus.

Six of the nation's top 15 teams will be in action at this year's meet. SMU is ranked fourth in the latest Speedo America College Swimming Coaches Association poll. Texas is ninth, Northwestern 10th, Nebraska 11th, Wisconsin 13th and Florida 14th. SMU placed fourth at the 1998 NCAA Championships, while Texas was ninth, Northwestern 10th, Nebraska 11th, Wisconsin 14th and Florida 15th.

The meet annually attracts some of the nation's elite teams to the SMU campus in Dallas, Texas. The Classic features only the fast, spectacular races - no long distances. The competition allows a nine-woman squad (eight swimmers and one diver per team) from each of the six teams for the two evening sessions. There are no preliminary heats, only consolation and championship finals. The meet will feature two diving events, the one-meter competition (Nov. 6) and the three-meter competition (Nov. 7).

SMU has won the meet twice (1995, 1996) and Michigan and Stanford once each. Stanford won the title in 1997, scoring 361 points; SMU was second with 350 points. SMU's Martina Moravcova tied for high-point scorer honors with Stanford's Misty Hyman at the 1997 SMU Women's Classic. Moravcova has either won or tied for high-point scorer honors at the Classic the last three years. SMU's Jenny Lingamfelter, who won both the one and three-meter competitions, was the Classic's high-point diver for the second consecutive year in 1997.