O'Neill Disappointed by Clerical Error

Susan O'Neill winner of the 200m butterfly at the FINA World Swimming Championships received some disappointing news yesterday. She'll have to put her National title wins celebration on hold.

At the recent Australian trials O'Neill celebrated her 30th National title win, which was believed to surpass the all-time record for National title wins. The previous record was believed to be 29 titles set between 1908 and 1924 by Frank Beaurepaire.

Apparently a clerical error was discovered by Beaurepaire's daughter. In their count the statisticians forgot to include 4 titles that Beaurepaire held in a discontinued event, the 1,320 yards freestyle which would bring his total National title count to 33.